Student Transcripts

RSA 193-C:6

This Technical Advisory continues the New Hampshire Department of Education's communication regarding the new laws which were passed during the 2017 legislative session.

This new law becomes effective June 16, 2017.

HB275, signed by Governor Sununu on April 17, 2017, adds an **opt-in** provision to RSA 193-C:6, which prohibits the statewide assessment results, including the results of the school day SAT, from being included as part of the student's transcript unless the student, if 18 years of age or older, or the student's parent or legal guardian if the student is under 18 years of age, consents.

The new sentence added to RSA 193-C:6, which is in bold font for convenience, is posted below:

RSA 193-C:6 Assessment Required:

Each year, a statewide assessment shall be administered in all school districts in the state in grades 3 through 8 and one grade in high school. All public school students in the designated grades shall participate in the assessment, unless such student is exempted, or provided that the commissioner of the department of education may, through an agreement with another state when such state and New Hampshire are parties to an interstate agreement, allow pupils to participate in that state's assessment program as an alternative to the assessment required under this chapter. Home educated students may contact their local school districts if they wish to participate in the statewide assessment. Private schools may contact the department of education to participate in the statewide assessment. The department may use the College Board SAT or ACT college readiness assessment to satisfy the high school assessment requirements of this chapter. The statewide assessment results of a student or the student's school district shall not be included as part of the student's transcript unless the student, if 18 years of age or older, or the student's parent or legal guardian if the student is under 18 years of age, consents.

Contacts:

Diana E. Fenton, Attorney Department of Education

Tel. 603-271-3189

Email: Diana.Fenton@doe.nh.gov

Heather Gage, Division Director Department of Education

Tel. 603-271-5992

Email: Heather.Gage@doe.nh.gov

Issued by:	Date Issued:	Supersedes	
Frank Edelblut, Commissioner.	June 15, 2017	issue dated: NEW	Page 1 of 1