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PARAEDUCATOR RESPONSIBILITIES / APPLICATION PROCEDURES
April 2011
In response to No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) legislation, the Department of Education changed requirements for voluntary certification and recertification of paraprofessionals.  The Department developed two categories of certification, each with its own set requirements; Paraeducator 1 and Paraeducator 2.  The certification requirements for Paraeducator 2 align with the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and qualify an individual for employment in a Title I or Title II school.  We understand that many paraprofessionals have worked in the education field for numerous years.  However, due to changes in both federal and state education regulations, the state is not able to grandfather paraprofessionals for voluntary certification.  We are asking applicants to follow the application guidelines listed below for both initial certification and renewal of certification.  Individuals applying for the paraeducator certification who currently hold an expired paraprofessional certificate are required to submit documentation of 50 continuing education units (or clock hours) of professional growth along with the materials listed below.
NOTE:  If an individual is currently certified as either a Paraeducator 1 or Paraeducator 2 and is renewing that credential, only the fee and professional growth documentation are required.  The Paraeducator Portfolio Assessment form is NOT required.
Paraeducator 1 - Candidate Responsibilities for INITIAL certification.
· Application: Down load from: www.education.nh.gov.  Click link listed on left CERTIFICATIN.  Scroll down to page bottom and click the link PARAEDUCATOR INFORMATION.
· $25.00 Fee – Submit fee with application.  Check made payable to “State of New Hampshire”.
· Official or notarized copy of High School Diploma or GED.  Submit with application and fee.
· The State Department of Education’s Assessment of Candidate’s Strengths and Professional Development form for Paraeducator 1 certification.  All competencies must be checked as met with evidence for each competency indicated in the assessment column.  Assessment form with copy of the evidence documenting all competencies as met with the application, fee, and official or notarized copy of High School Diploma or GED are submitted to the Bureau of Credentialing, N. H. Dept. of Education, 101 Pleasant St., Concord, NH   03301-3860 

Paraeducator 1 – Candidate Responsibilities for RENEWAL of prior paraprofessional certification & INITIAL application to paraeducator 1 certification.

· Application: Down load from: www.education.nh.gov.  Click link listed on left: CERTIFICATION.  Scroll down to page bottom and click the link PARAEDUCATOR INFORMATION.
· $25.00 Fee – Submit fee with application.  Check made payable to “State of New Hampshire”.

· Documentation of 50 continuing education units (or clock hours).

· The completed State Department of Education’s Assessment of Candidate’s Strengths and Professional Development form for Paraeducator 1 certification.  All competencies must be checked as met with evidence indicated in the assessment column.

· Assessment form with evidence documenting all competencies as met and documentation of professional growth with the application and fee are submitted to the Bureau of Credentialing, N. H. Dept. of Education, 101 Pleasant St., Concord, NH  03301-3860.
NOTE:  If the candidate is employed by a school district, the signature sheet must be signed and submitted with the assessment

form and other application documents.
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Paraeducator 2 - Candidate Responsibilities for INITIAL certification.  Paraeducator 2 certification standards align with No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).  Activities used as evidence must be equivalent to college level coursework.
· Application:  Down load from www.education.nh.gov.  Click link listed on left CERTIFICATION.  Scroll down to page bottom and click the link PARAEDUCATOR INFORMATION.
· $25.00 Fee – Submit fee with application.  Check made payable to “State of New Hampshire”.
· Official college transcript with degree conferred or official transcript showing minimum of 48 credit hours for Paraeducator 2; OR notarized copy of High School Diploma or GED and the completed State Department of Education’s Paraeducator 2 Portfolio Assessment of Candidate’s Strengths and Professional Development form.  All competencies must be checked as met with evidence indicated in the assessment column.  Activities used as evidence must be at the college level.

· Portfolio Assessment form with documentation of evidence indicating how all competencies are met, application and fee are submitted to the Bureau of Credentialing, N. H. Dept. of Education, 101 Pleasant St., Concord, NH   03301-3860.
Paraeducator 2 - Candidate Responsibilities for RENEWAL of prior paraprofessional certification & INITIAL application to paraeducator 2 certification.

· Application:  Down load from: www.education.nh.gpv.  Click link listed on left CERTIFICATION.  Scroll down to page bottom and click the link PARAEDUCATOR INFORMATION.
· $25.00 Fee – Submit fee with application.  Check made payable to “State of New Hampshire”.

· Documentation of 50 continuing education units (or clock hours).

· Official college transcript with degree conferred or official college transcript showing minimum of 48 credit hours; OR

the completed State Department of Education’s Paraeducator 2 Assessment of Candidate’s Strengths and Professional Development form.  All competencies must be checked as met with evidence indicated in the assessment column.  Activities used as evidence must be equivalent to college coursework.

· Assessment form with evidence documenting all competencies as met are submitted with application, fee, and documentation of professional growth to the Bureau of Credentialing, N. H. Dept. of Education, 101 Pleasant St., Concord, NH  03301-3860.
NOTE:  If the candidate is employed by a school district, the signature sheet must be signed and submitted with the assessment

form and other application documents.
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