Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Professional Development | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork
Subject indexABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0 thru 9

Chapter 33 Benefits


Note, these are general Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits; specific benefits may vary depending upon the individual and education/training program. Starting 1 Oct 11, Chapter 33 benefits may be used for NCD, flight, correspondence, and apprenticeships & OJT programs.

  • Established Charges – Limited to actual net tuition & fees at the in-state rate for public IHLs; capped at $17, 500 for private and foreign IHLs and NCDs. The actual net cost for in-state tuition and fees is the balance after the application of any waiver, scholarship, aid, or assistance [other than loans and funds provided under section 401(b) of the Higher Education Act of 1965] specifically designated for the sole purpose of defraying tuition and fees.
  • Monthly Housing Allowance
    • E-5 residing in the same ZIP code for the IHL where the individual is enrolled. (Basic Allowance for Housing (BAH)).
    • Excludes active duty and those enrolled in programs at half-time or less.
  • Stipend for Books and Supplies up to $1000 a year (starts 1 Oct 11 for active duty).
  • Rural Benefit. One-time payment of $500 for claimants using chapter 33 to pursue a program of education if the claimant
    • Resides in a county with 6 persons or less per square mile; and either
    • Physically relocates at least 500 miles; or
    • Travels by air to physically attend an IHL if no other land-based transportation exists
  • Refund of chapter 30 contributions (excludes $600 buy-up). Payable as part of the monthly housing allowance when entitlement exhausts.
  • Other Benefits.
    • Tutorial assistance may be paid up to $100 per month, not to exceed a total of $1200, for those training ≥ ½;
    • Licensing and certification tests may be reimbursed, not to exceed the cost of the test up to a maximum of $1,460; and
    • Work-study is authorized for individuals training at ¾ time or higher.
    • Kickers. Individuals eligible for a kicker (College Fund, Reserve Kicker) will remain eligible for such kicker under chapter 33.
    • Counseling may be obtained from the VA prior to and during training.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711