
 

TO: DOE Partners 
DATE: April 9, 2013  
  
- TUESDAY TELEGRAPH –  
News from the Office of Early Childhood Education at the DOE 
  
The Office of Early Childhood Education has received several requests to repeat the 
Kindergarten issue from last year. Here is an encore edition from April 17, 2012  
  
Kindergarten in New Hampshire - a dedicated issue to current practice  
 

1. Kindergarten as a State Law in New Hampshire - required offering; optional 
attendance 

2. Compulsory Attendance in New Hampshire Age 6 - full time program RSA 
193:1 

3. Kindergarten Enrollment, Redshirting and the Reality in New Hampshire 
4. Kindergarten Enrollment: Awareness, Best Practice; Recommendations for 

Districts, Parents and Communities 
 

 1.    Kindergarten as a State Law in New Hampshire - Effective with the 2010-2011 
school years, every public school district in New Hampshire is required to offer a minimum 
of a half-day Kindergarten program. The cut-off enrollment date is set locally by each 
district. In addition, each community decides if it will offer a full day or half-day educational 
program. The state adequacy formula for funding Kindergarten states that no kindergarten 
pupil shall count as more than ½ day attendance per calendar year (RSA 198:38 
I.) Therefore, regardless of the local decision to offer a full or half-day program, the State 
pays for half-day. Kindergarten programs are to immediately precede other elementary 
grades and be designed primarily for five year olds.  

  
2.    Compulsory Attendance in New Hampshire begins at age 6 - RSA 193:1 - Duty of 

Parent; Compulsory Attendance by Pupil. - A parent of any child at least 6 years of age 
and under 18 years of age shall cause such child to attend the public school to which 
the child is assigned in the child's resident district. Such child shall attend full 
time when such school is in session unless: attending another public school outside the 
district, receiving a home education (RSA 193-A), the district superintendent has excused a 
child for extenuating circumstances, the child is attending public or private school located in 
another state, exempt due to RSA 193:5, and other reasons exceeding the developmentally 
appropriate norms of Kindergarten such as achieving a GED and other advancements. A 
child who reaches the sixth birthday after September 30 shall not be required to 
attend school under the provisions of this section until the following school year.  



 3.    Kindergarten Enrollment, Redshirting and the Reality in New Hampshire - The 
intentional practice of allowing children an extra year of maturity by “holding back” at age 
five, or redshirting, often backfires in New Hampshire because of the way our laws are 
constructed. New Hampshire law intentionally requires districts to offer a minimum of half- 
day Kindergarten for five year olds. Attendance laws intentionally allow parents to “opt 
out” of public Kindergarten programs and begin compulsory education at age six, full day, 
first grade. Because many are unfamiliar with the regulations, they are surprised to 
discover their local schools requiring a youngster who turns six before September 30th, and 
has never attended Kindergarten, to be enrolled in first grade. This is correct according to 
state law. The only option a principal may have for a full day public program, according to 
state law, is if the district offers full day Kindergarten. Then, according to state law, 
compulsory education full time at age six can be achieved in a full day Kindergarten 
program. The advantage parents seek by giving a youngster time to mature is often met 
with confusion, misunderstanding and dismay. Building administrators who seek to provide 
the best educational experience for a child are bound to uphold our State laws.  

  
4.    Kindergarten Enrollment: Awareness, Best Practice; Recommendations for 

Districts, Parents and Communities - All districts are encouraged to conduct a 
Kindergarten policy audit to align their current practices with the new 
regulations. Kindergarten enrollment policy should include readiness criteria, screening tools, 
cut off dates, and a clear process for individual consideration, exceptions and appeals. Policy 
should consider 21st Century family life and the optimal educational experience for children 
who have attended full day programs for several years in advance of public 
education. Districts are encouraged to communicate their local policies to child care 
programs in their area for increased community awareness amongst parents who are 
unfamiliar with public education rules and procedures. This is especially important for first 
time parents to local districts and currently enrolled children with younger siblings whose 
parents had a different experience with their first child due to different laws.  

  
Current Kindergarten enrollment cut-off dates in New Hampshire range from August 15th - 
December 31st. Parents, child care providers and service providers in early childhood are 
encouraged to make contact with local SAU offices for information on current Kindergarten 
enrollment practices, including the offering of half-day or full day programming. These 
decisions vary greatly in New Hampshire and from year to year based on budgets and 
enrollment. All private and public providers for young children are encouraged to update 
their practical information regarding local Kindergarten policies annually, in order to 
continuously meet the needs of young children, without shock or disappointment…because 
things do change.  
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