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Proceedings

The New Hampshire Department of Education (NHDoE), Office of Legislation and Hearings has
developed a Users’ Guide to Administrative Process to assist participants to the Department’s
administrative processes. This guide was developed based on frequently asked questions from
districts, parents, attorneys, advocates and other interested individuals as well as common issues
that have been raised as a result of the changes in IDEA. A complete copy of the Users” Guide can
be found on the New Hampshire Department of Education website:

http://www.ed.state.nh.us/education/laws/documents/UserGuidewithIndex.pdf

IDEA 2004 allows for a statutory 30 day window for local resolution. The law also provides that
the parties may elect mediation instead of a local resolution. Since the federal law doesn’t
specify a resolution session has to occur when a local education agency requests a hearing, the
timeframes for the scheduling of LEA requested hearings and parent requested hearings are done
differently.

LEA Request for Hearing

The following formula is used in determining hearing dates when a request for hearing has been
submitted by the LEA:

11* or 12" day Mediation

14" or 15" day Pre-hearing conference

27 - 29" days Two day hearing

42" or 43" day Receipt of Decision by Office of Legislation/Hearings

44" or 45" day Office of Legislation/Hearings mails decision to parties by certified
mail
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Parental Request for Hearing

The following formula is used in determining hearing dates when a request for hearing has been
submitted by the parent:

16" or 17" day Mediation

31%t or 32" day Pre-hearing conference

44" 10 47" days Two day hearing

72" or 73™ day Receipt of Decision by Office of Legislation/Hearings

74" or 75™ day Office of Legislation/Hearings mails decision to parties by certified
mail

Districts should feel free to contact Stephen Berwick at the Office of Legislation and Hearings (271-
2299) if they have any questions about Special Education Impartial Due Process Hearings.



