Date: March 6, 2008

Guidance from NH DHHS/BDS and DOE/Special Education
New Hampshire Child Find Notification

The agencies are required by the IDEA and the NH Memorandum of Agreement of 1998 to
participate in an interagency child identification process to identify, locate, and notify the Local
Education Agency about a child who may be eligible for either Part B (section 619) or Part C.
This process is referred to as ‘Child Find'.

The purpose of this document is to clarify how ESS and LEAs will collaborate to identify children
for ‘Child Find’ purposes.

Definitions

IDEA requirements: Part C of the IDEA of 2004 requires the Part C lead agency to provide a
description of how it will ensure that the LEA for the area in which such a child resides is notified
that the child will shortly reach the age of eligibility for Part B preschool services. IDEA 2004
and the proposed Part C regulations require that this notification occur not less than 9 months
before a child turns 3.

Notification: For all children enrolled in ESS regardless of reason for ESS eligibility the following
information is provided for Child Find purposes only:

e Child’'s name

o Date of birth

e Parent(s) name(s)

e Parent contact information

Opt-out policy: Parental consent is not required for notification. However, a state can allow
parents to opt-out of natification. In the spirit of NH's Family Centered Early Supports and
Services philosophy, NH will have an opt-out policy allowing parents to decline notification.

If a parent opts-out of notification, this does not mean that they have chosen to not refer their
child to special education.

Referral to Special Education: Referral to special education is a separate and distinct process
and should occur as outlined in the transition plan in the child’s IFSP.

Responsibilities

Area Agency Responsibilities

o Policies and procedures are in place reflecting the needs of the LEAs and families in
their region.

¢ Notification will be made for all children receiving Early Supports and Services no later
than 24 months of age regardless of reason for ESS eligibility (unless a parent chooses
the opt-out policy).

e For children who begin receiving services from ESS after 24 months of age, notification
will be made as soon as possible.
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Notification will be sent to the Special Education Administrator and/or a designee in the
local school district where the child resides.

Notification must include:

o Child's name

o Date of birth

0 Parents’ name(s)

o0 Parent’s contact information

Date of notification will be recorded in the statewide data system called New Hampshire
Special Education Information System (NHSEIS).

Program Responsibilities

ESS will discuss notification process with all families no later than the child’s 2" birthday
(24 months).

When a child is found eligible for ESS after 24 months of age, a discussion of notification
will occur at the first IFSP meeting.

ESS will document in the child’s record the date of discussion about notification with
notes if the family chooses to opt-out.

Informed written parental consent is required prior to sending any additional information
to the LEA.

ESS program will document in NHSEIS the date that notification was reviewed with the
family and whether the family has chosen to opt-out.

LEA Responsibilities
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Notification from ESS to the LEA is for Child Find purposes only and does not constitute

a referral for special education services.

Districts must have clear policies and procedures in place for Child Find notification.

Special education Administrators should let the Area Agency know to whom the

notification should be sent.

It is recommended that policies and procedures include follow up strategies with the

families and ESS providers to ensure an effective child find process is in place.

Strategies may include but are not limited to:

0 A letter of introduction from the LEA to the parent that provides the name and phone
number of an LEA representative who can explain the special education process.

o0 Provide the parent with a copy of the Special Education Procedural Safeguards.

o0 Provide the parent with general information about preschool special education.

o A follow up letter to the parent if the transition planning conference is delayed.



