Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Professional Development | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

State Board of Education Appoints New Members to Professional Standards Board (PSB)

On March 9, 2011 the State Board of Education named two teachers to the PSB. Angie Miller is the 2011 New Hampshire Teacher of the Year. She teaches Language Arts at the Holderness Central School. Georgine Williams has taught social studies at Raymond High School for the past 11 years.

Both teachers are looking forward to serving on the PSB. Mrs. Miller stated in her application that, “The idea of examining professional development and teacher certification excites me.” Ms. Williams wrote, “Being on this Board I will bring civic responsibility to new heights as I hope to be the voice of the classroom teacher who carries the concerns of faculty and students as we all navigate the fast paced changes in education.”

The PSB is a 21-member body authorized by state law to advise the State Board of Education regarding professional growth, certification, and governance of the education profession in New Hampshire. PSB members are appointed for three-year terms and may serve up to two full terms. The voting membership of the Professional Standards Board consists of twenty-one (21) persons appointed as follows: nine (9) classroom teachers and/or educational specialists; nine (9) representatives of administration and higher education; two (2) qualified laypersons; and the Director of the Division of Program Support or designee. More information about the PSB can be found at

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711