New Hampshire Department of Education
Division of Educational Improvement
Bureau of Nutrition Programs and Services

6 Cent Certification for New School Food Authorities/School Administrative Units

The Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010 (HHFKA) requires an additional 6 cents per
lunch reimbursement be provided to School Administrative Units (SAU)/Reporting Agency (RA)
certified by New Hampshire Department of Education as being in compliance with the new meal
pattern requirements. The new meal pattern requirements that became effective July 1, 2012, are not
optional. The 6 cents reimbursement is meant to encourage SAUs/RAS to implement the updated
requirements as quickly as possible and also to ease the financial burden associated with
implementing the new meal pattern. The HHFKA explicitly states that SAUs/RAs found out of
compliance will not receive the additional reimbursement and also jeopardize program funding. All
new SAUS/RASs are required to meet the new meal pattern requirements and be certified for the 6
cents reimbursement as part of the application and approval process.

The SAU/RA is required to use the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Menu
Planning Tool for Certification for Six Cent Reimbursement (or other approved) to assess
compliance with meal components. There are two options for the nutrient assessment portion of
certification. Option 1 requires a nutrient analysis using USDA approved software. Option 2 requires
the USDA created Simplified Nutrient Assessment tool to be completed with each of the menu
worksheets. The SAU/RA must complete either a weighted nutrient analysis of calories and
saturated fat using USDA-approved nutrient analysis software or the simplified nutrient assessment.

Required Supporting Documentation for Certification for both Lunch and Breakfast

e USDA (or other approved) Certification Worksheet for the week selected for
certification. You can find these worksheets on our website:
http://education.nh.gov/program/nutrition/six cent cert index.htm

e Monthly Menus for each age/grade group that contains the week selected for
certification. Include all distinct menus for lunch and breakfast (where applicable). You
may submit a menu for the calendar month in which you are submitting, the month prior to
submission, or the month after. For example, if you submit for the 6 cents in November, you
may use December Menus, October Menus, or November Menus. Make sure that you have
all documents that support each of your distinct menus. If the SAU/RA serves multiple
distinct menus within one age/grade group, the SAU/RA must submit all menus served. For
example, if the SAU has two high schools that offer lunch menus with different reimbursable
main dishes, both lunch menus and accompanying menu worksheets must be completed and
submitted. If the SAU has two high schools that offer lunch menus with the same
reimbursable main dishes, but one has a vegetable bar and the other serves similar vegetables
on the line each day, the SAU would only need to submit one of these menus and the
accompanying menu worksheet. In such situations, the SAU/RA must ensure that any menu
variations not submitted for certification are consistent with the meal pattern and nutrient
requirements.


http://education.nh.gov/program/nutrition/six_cent_cert_index.htm

e Nutrient Analysis completed using either USDA approved software (Option 1) or the
USDA simplified nutrient assessment tool (Option 2) which is found at:
http://education.nh.gov/program/nutrition/six_cent_cert_index.htm

e Attestation Statement - The attestation statement must be signed by an authorized official
as defined in the attestation statement. Scan and save this document in a file so that it can be
uploaded with all the required files at the same time for submission. If you are unable to scan
the attestation statement, you can fax it to our office (603-271-1953) to the attention of Tami
Drake. You must notify our office prior to faxing the attestation statement in your
submission so that a Bureau member can look for the fax. If it is not received, your
submission will be denied for missing items.

Tips for Submission

e Be sure that you have downloaded and used the correct worksheets for each grade group and
menu type.

e If you are participating in the School Breakfast Program, you must provide breakfast menus
and menu worksheets as well. These worksheets can also be found at:
http://education.nh.gov/program/nutrition/six_cent_cert_index.htm If choosing Option 2,
ensure that the USDA Simplified Nutrient Assessment tab is completed on the breakfast
worksheets. If using Option 1, ensure you have uploaded the nutrient analysis for breakfast to
support each menu.

Process for Submitting Certification Documentation

Documents for 6 cents are to be submitted into the NH DOE for approval. The documents include:
e Attestation, signed by the superintendent/director or other authorized official.

e Breakfast (if applicable) and Lunch Worksheets for the specified week and for the grade groups
served reimbursable meals in the SAU/RA

e The monthly menu that shows the week specified for assessment

e Either the completed Nutrient Analysis using USDA approved software (Option 1) or USDA
simplified nutrient assessment tool (Option 2).

a. Scan and submit documents via email to Tami Drake (tami.drake@doe.nh.gov) If you do not have
the ability to scan, then send the documents to: Tami Drake, NH Dept. of Education, 101 Pleasant
St., Concord, NH 03301

b. Once the documents have been submitted to the NH DOE, the receipt date will be recorded and this
date will begin date of your 60 day certification period.
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c. Each certification document is reviewed. During the certification process, you may be contacted to
clarify or correct information that has been reviewed. It is very important to respond in a timely
manner so that the certification process can be completed within the 60 day time period.

d. The State signed copy of the Attestation form and the Approval letter will be emailed to the
superintendent and food service director once 6 cents approval has been given.

In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights
regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in
or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race,

color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any
program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information
(e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or
local) where they applied for benefits. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech
disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally,
program information may be made available in languages other than English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint
Form, (AD-3027) found online at: http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any
USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information
requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992. Submit your
completed form or letter to USDA by:

(1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410;

(2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or

(3) email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.



