NH Department of Education Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Public Higher Education Task Force

January 26, 2024 Meeting Minutes



Christine Brennan Deputy Commissioner

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Higher Education Commission 101 Pleasant Street Concord, N.H. 03301 TEL. (603) 271-2409 FAX (603) 271-4134

A meeting of the Public Higher Education Task Force was held on Friday, January 26, 2024, at 9:00am at 25 Hall Street, Concord, NH, 03301. All members were present:

Stephen Appleby, Chair M. Jacqueline Eastwood Senator James Gray George Hansel Representative Rick Ladd Richard Lavers Butch Locke Representative David Luneau Jennifer MacDonald Cathy Provencher Mark Rubinstein Edwin Smith Nick Toumpas

Frank Edelblut Commissioner

- 1. Chair Stephen Appleby called the meeting to order at 9:00am. A quorum was present.
- 2. CCSNH and USNH Presidents and Provosts met with the Task Force:
 - CCSNH Cheryl Lesser (GBCC) Lisa McCurley (GBCC) Alfred Williams (RVCC) Jenn Cournoyer (RVCC) Brian Bicknell (MCC) Megan Conn (MCC) Melanie Robbins (WMCC) Mark Desmarais (WMCC) Patrick Cate (LRCC) Carlene Rose (LRCC) Patrick Tompkins (NHTI) Hector Iweka (NHTI) Lucille Jordan (NCC) Robyn Griswold (NCC)
 - USNH Jim Dean (UNH) Melinda Treadwell (KSC) James Beeby (KSC) Donald Birx (PSU) Nate Bowditch (PSU)
- 3. Review of minutes from 1/12/24, 1/18/24 and 1/19/24 Public Higher Education Task Force meetings. A motion was made by Senator James Gray to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by M. Jacqueline Eastwood, and passed unanimously.
- 4. CCSNH Faculty met with the Task Force:
 - Diana Menard (NHTI) Kerry Cook (NHTI) Susan Hughes (NCC) Jayne Barnes (NCC) John Achorn (WMCC) Jonathan Mullins (WMCC) Kyle Aubut (WMCC) Denise Ruby (RVCC) Mike Gordon (GBCC)
- 5. USNH Faculty met with the Task Force:

Vidya Sundar (UNH)

Jeff Halpern (UNH) Matthew Cheney (PSU) Laura Tilghman (PSU) Jim Kraly (KSC) Karen Standish (KSC) Ron Danault (UNH CPS) Rita Kondrath (UNH CPS) Karen White (UNH CPS) Christian Lagarde (UNH CPS) Carolyn Cormier (UNH CPS) Sunil Ramali (UNH CPS) Kate Shumway-Pitt (UNH CPS) Amy Thompson (UNH CPS) Courtney Rice (UNH CPS) Kate Collopy (UNH CPS) Carina Self (UNH CPS)

6. CCSNH and USNH students met with the Task Force:

CCSNH	Vol Lysianski (GBCC) Colleen Ross (GBCC) Kelly Pilotte (NHTI) Kalmen Barkin (NHTI) Spriha Paudel (NHTI) Brendan Jacques (NHTI)
USNH	Emily Coutermarsh (PSU) Jose Cintron-Ortiz (UNH-M) Zach Christie (KSU) Avery Ellis (UNH Law) Tim Hoheneder (UNH) Jeremiah Barry (KSC)

- 7. Discussion of approaches to the work and logistics.
- 8. Meeting was adjourned at 2:04pm.