NH Department of Education Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Public Higher Education Task Force

February 23, 2024 Meeting Minutes



Christine Brennan Deputy Commissioner

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Higher Education Commission 25 Hall Street Concord, N.H. 03301 TEL. (603) 271-2409 FAX (603) 271-4134

A meeting of the Public Higher Education Task Force was held on Friday, February 23, 2024, at 9:00am at 25 Hall Street, Concord, NH, 03301. The following members were present:

Stephen Appleby, Chair M. Jacqueline Eastwood Senator James Gray George Hansel Representative Rick Ladd Richard Lavers Representative David Luneau Jennifer MacDonald Cathy Provencher Mark Rubinstein Edwin Smith Nick Toumpas

Frank Edelblut Commissioner The following members were not present:

Butch Locke

- 1. Chair Stephen Appleby called the meeting to order at 9:02am. A quorum was present.
- 2. Open public comment session from 9:00am to 11:00am; no in-person public comment received, and one public comment received via email (R. DeRosa)
- 3. Review of written remarks from C. Provencher and T. Leach in regards to 2/2 chancellor presentations.
- 4. Review of minutes from the 2/2 Public Higher Education Task Force meeting. A motion was made by M. Jacqueline Eastwood to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by J. Gray, and passed unanimously via roll call vote with one correction R. Gustafson was noted incorrectly as former chancellor of USNH and was changed to CCSNH.
- 5. Discussion of short-term and long-term recommendations.
- 6. Discussion of approaches to the work and logistics.
- 7. Meeting was adjourned at 12:53pm.