Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Professional Development | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Professional Standards Board

The Professional Standards Board is authorized by statute RSA 186:60 to advise the State Board of Education regarding professional growth, certification, and governance of the education profession in this state.

The voting membership of the Professional Standards Board consists of twenty-one (21) persons appointed as follows: nine (9) classroom teachers and/or educational specialists; nine (9) representatives of administration and higher education; two (2) qualified lay persons; and the Director of the Division of Program Support or designee.

The State Board of Education makes a minimum of six appointments annually from nominations submitted by the education profession and interested persons. Appointments are for terms of three years. No member shall serve more than two full terms.

The Professional Standards Board conducts a minimum of five (5) regularly scheduled meetings annually which occur from September to June.

The State Board of Education plans to fill vacancies on the Professional Standards Board. If you are interested in serving on the Professional Standards Board, please submit the completed application by June 30, 2017.

Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
February 1, 2017   Minutes of the February 1, 2017 meeting
March 8, 2017 Agenda for the March 8, 2017 meeting Minutes of the March 8, 2017 meeting
April 5, 2017 Agenda for the April 5, 2017 meeting Minutes of the April 4, 2017 meeting
May 3, 2017 Agenda for the May 3, 2017 meeting Minutes of the May 3, 2017 meeting
June 7, 2017 Agenda for the June 7, 2017 meeting  

Acrobat Reader Symbol Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

Membership 2016 - 2017 School Year

Teachers and Education Specialists
Joanne Goelzer Earth Science Teacher, Northwood 2015-2018
Katrina Hall Mathematics Teacher, Hollis Brookline 2016-2019
Joann Misra Special Educator, Windham 2016-2019
Michele Mitnitsky Science Teacher, Dover 2015-2018
Nancy Morse ESOL Teacher, Hollis 2014-2017
Dennis Perreault Social Studies Teacher, Litchfield 2014-2017*
Anne Wallace Mathematics Teacher, Hampstead 2014-2017
David Webster Science Teacher, Lincoln 2015-2018
Vacant   2017-2019
II. Higher Education and Education Administration
Kirk Beitler Superintendent, SAU 73, Gilford 2016-2019
Christine Boston Pupil Personnel Services Director, Dover 2014-2017
Gerard Buteau Professor, Plymouth State University 2014-2017
Cynthia Lucero Professor of Education & Coordinator of Field Experiences, NHTI 2015-2018
Ray McNulty Dean of Education, Southern NH University 2016-2019
Dianna Terrell Associate Professor, Saint Anselm College, Manchester 2015-2018*
R. Page Tompkins Executive Director & Faculty, Upper Valley Educators Institute, Lebanon 2015-2018
Lisa A. White Superintendent, SAU 93, Monadnock 2016-2019
Kimberly Yarlott Principal, Reeds Ferry School, Merrimack 2016-2019
III. Qualified Lay Persons
Erin Grogan The New Teacher Project, Chesterfield 2014-2017
Irv Richardson Coordinator for Public Education and School Support, NEA-NH 2016-2019
IV. Director, Division of Program Support
Dr. Scott Mantie    

*six-year term ends

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711