Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

NH Students Nominated For Presidential Scholars Program

Students with academic, artistic, and leadership success will be announced later this year.

CONCORD, NH – More than 80 New Hampshire students have been nominated by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars and the U.S. Department of Education to be candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program for 2019. The program, which started in the 1960s, honors some of the most distinguished graduating seniors in the Granite State. Students are chosen due to their academic, artistic, leadership, and technical success and involvement in their high schools and communities.

More than 4,500 students who scored exceptionally well on the SAT or ACT were invited to submit nomination materials. State education commissioners may also nominate candidates for consideration.

“We can all be proud of these New Hampshire students who have worked so hard and the teachers who have helped prepare them for this important distinction,” stated Frank Edelblut, the commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Education. “By recognizing excellence across different domains including academic, art, leadership and technical fields, the Presidential Scholars program reinforces what New Hampshire has recognized for many years, that individual students need individual pathways to their own bright futures.”

The following students were nominated to the program:

Mahesh D. Agarwal, Exeter - Berwick Academy
Yaseen Ahmed, Dover - Phillips Exeter Academy
Paul Antonietti, Salem - Salem High School
Kenneth Beaupre, Orford - Orford High School
Solomon J. Bixby, Dover - Dover High School
Molly E. Boll, Bedford - Bedford High School
Emily J. Bregou, Hanover - Hanover High School
Victoria Burroughs, Newport - Newport Middle High School
Joshua Calzadillas, Nashua - Academy for Science and Design
Claudia V. Cantin, Plymouth - Holderness School
Dylan Carpino, Colebrook - Colebrook Academy
Luke Cassidy, Wolfeboro Falls - Stanford University EPGY Online High School
Prosser M. Cathey, Concord - St. Paul's School
Kaitlyn Chambers, Claremont - Stevens High School
Sumit A. Chandra, Exeter - Phillips Exeter Academy
Jacqueline Cho, Exeter - Phillips Exeter Academy
Inyoung Choi, Concord - St. Paul's School
Walter R. Cook, Keene - Keene High School
Christopher G. Couto, Londonderry - Academy for Science and Design
Gwyneth M. Crossman, Durham - Phillips Exeter Academy
Ankita T. Devasia, Nashua - Nashua Senior High School South
Eli M. Duggan, Concord - Concord High School
Julia Fahlbeck, Bethlehem - Profile Senior High School
Nolan Gagnon, Belmont - Belmont High School
Maeve D. Gifford, Manchester - Bishop Guertin High School
Kira Gousios, Nashua - Academy for Science and Design
Lauren M. Goyette, Bow - Bow High School
Grace A. Gray, Exeter - Phillips Exeter Academy
Lauren P. Henderson, Concord - St. Paul's School
Haoxiang Hou, Meriden - Kimball Union Academy
Oscar N. Ingelfinger, Durham - Oyster River High School
Benjamin Jachim-Gallagher, Newport - Newport Middle High School
Alyssa M. Jarvis, Londonderry - Londonderry High School
Brianna Jonsz, Belmont - Belmont High School
Rohit Kantipudi, Madbury - Oyster River High School
Samantha Kelley-Derzon, Greenland - Portsmouth High School
Amol A. Khanna, Nashua - Nashua High School South
Sophia S. Kim, Merrimack - Merrimack High School
Abigail A. Kirk, Amherst - Groton School
Karsten Kleyensteuber, Claremont - Stevens High School
Meera Kurup, Merrimack - Bishop Guertin High School
Henry Lavoie, Hopkinton - Hopkinton High School
Ian R. Lewis, Amherst - Souhegan High School
Varun Lingadal, Nashua - Nashua Senior High School North
Aileen R. Lo, Concord - St. Paul's School
Devin C. Mccabe, New Castle - Phillips Exeter Academy
Rosa S. Mccann, Hanover - Hanover High School
Shannon M. Mcinnis, Nashua - Nashua High School South
Nora E. Miller, Hollis - Hollis/Brookline High School
Bryce Morales, Portsmouth - Phillips Exeter Academy
Anusha Murali, Concord – Bishop Brady High School
Jenna L. Myers, Hampton - Winnacunnet High School
Laurel H. Nelson, Nashua - Academy for Science and Design
Linh K. Nguyen Hoang, Plymouth - Holderness School
Elizabeth M. Noble, Milford - Milford High School
Mitchell G. Norris, Portsmouth - Portsmouth High School
Brook Perry, Lisbon - Lisbon Regional School
Michaela Phan, Portsmouth - Phillips Exeter Academy
Sarah A. Poole, Rochester - Portsmouth Christian High School
Kyle Rysdam, Milford - Milford High School
Sarah J. Ryu, Exeter - Phillips Exeter Academy
Iroha Shirai, Hanover - Hanover High School
Gillian A. Simpson, Bedford - Bedford High School
Jacob W. Slaughter, Hanover - Thetford Academy
Kate L. Smith, Somersworth - St. Thomas Aquinas High School
Deepti H. Srinivasan, Nashua - Nashua Senior High School South
Katherine E. Stariknok, Chester - Pinkerton Academy
Laura Swain, Sanbornton - Winnisquam Regional High School
Rachel Swindell, Wilmot - Kearsarge Regional High School
Jason Tang, Manchester - Manchester Memorial High School
William J. Tanski IV, Grantham - Lebanon High School
Isabelle J. Telford, Portsmouth - Portsmouth High School
Elizabeth Tremblay, Lempster - Newport Middle High School
Sophie G. Unger, Amherst - Souhegan High School
Abigail K. Von Plinsky, Keene - Keene High School
Steven Wang, Concord - St. Paul's School
Ashleigh Woods, Manchester - Manchester Memorial High School
Abigail G. Wool, Portsmouth - Berwick Academy
Rishika Yadav, Nashua - Nashua High School North
Andrey W. Yao, Plymouth - Holderness School
Dylan R. Yin, Exeter - Phillips Exeter Academy
Julia Z. Zhang, Nashua - Nashua High School South

Semi-finalists will be named in April and scholars in May. New Hampshire winners will be invited to Washington, D.C., in June, as part of the recognition program and will receive a medallion at the White House.

For more information about the program, visit

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711