Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Four NH Teachers win National Award

Edelblut congratulates outstanding math and science teachers

CONCORD- New Hampshire Education Commissioner Frank Edelblut today congratulated a quartet for New Hampshire teachers who were recognized with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Winners announced by President Donald J. Trump this week are for 2017 and 2018, and include:

  • Elise Catalano received the award for her work at Rye Junior High and now teaches 7th Grade Math at Cooperative Middle School in Exeter.
  • Angela Lennox recently retired from Exeter High School. She was a finalist for PAEMST in 2013.
  • Bryan Smith teaches 4th Grade at Bethlehem Elementary School.
  • Gregory Snoke teaches 6th Grade at Captain Samuel Douglass Academy in Brookline.

“We know that great teachers make it much easier for students to find a path to a bright future,” Edelblut said. “I want to congratulate these outstanding teachers for all they do for students.”

Established by Congress in 1983, The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th grade science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awardees will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. and receive a $10,000 grant from the National Science Foundation.

Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and the National Science Foundation. The individuals and organizations announced today are 2017 and 2018 Awardees. A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists, and educators at the State and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to OSTP. Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education.

For more information, visit Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711