For Immediate Release
September 9, 2021


Six Teachers have been Selected as Semi-Finalists for the 2022 NH Teacher of the Year Award

Concord, NH (September 9, 2021) – Teachers from Amherst, Auburn, Harrisville, South Hampton, Wilton and Windham are finalists after 28 nominations were made earlier this year.

The NH Department of Education announced today 6 semi-finalists for the 2022 NH Teacher of the Year Award. The semi-finalists selected from 28 nominees are:

  • Victoria Boothroyd, first grade, Wilkins Elementary School, Amherst
  • Sara Casassa, sixth through eighth grades, Barnard School, South Hampton
  • Carly Cohen, fifth grade, Auburn Village School, Auburn
  • Nancy Fothergill, third through sixth grade, Windham Center School, Windham
  • John Thomas, first through sixth grades, Well Memorial School, Harrisville
  • Andrew Tyler, sixth through twelfth grades, Wilton-Lyndeborough Cooperative, Wilton

This year’s Selection Committee includes First Lady Valerie Sununu, a former special educator, Ryan Terrell from the State Board of Education, Christine Brennan, Deputy Commissioner for the Department of Education, Danielle Boutin, 2021 Teacher of the Year as well as Kim Piper, 2020 Teacher of the Year and Sawyer Rogers, former Senate Youth delegate. First Lady Valerie Sununu commented “Our New Hampshire teachers are very talented. Under the unique circumstances of remote learning and a world-wide pandemic, the teachers nominated this session hold a special regard in our state and our communities. Every single one of them deserves our utmost celebration.” Ryan Terrell observed that almost all of the applications discussed the importance of the educators having a network of support, which was a challenge during COVID.

Many past Teachers of the Year describe being part of this exemplary organization as a life changing event. They appreciate having a voice that continues to elevate the importance of the teaching profession.

The next step in the selection process will examine the candidates’ speaking skills, as they present to the selection committee their thoughts on opportunities for education and the future of the
education system coming out of COVID. The selection committee will select finalists and hope to visit their schools later this month, with a final recipient selected early October.

The 2022 Teacher of the Year will be New Hampshire’s entrant in the National Teacher of the Year program. The national program, run by the Council of Chief State School Officers, identifies exceptional teachers in the country, recognizes their effective work in the classroom, amplifies their voices, and empowers them to participate in policy discussions at the state and national levels.

a montage of teachers
Six teachers have been named semi-finalists for the NH Teacher of the Year Award.
Pictured upper row, left to right, are: Victoria Boothroyd, Sara Casassa and Carly Cohen.
Bottom row, left to right, are Nancy Fothergill, John Scott Thomas, and Andrew Tyler