Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

2011 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Recipients Announced

On June 11, 2012 President Obama named 97 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Gina Bergskaug has been selected as a 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching recipient. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between mathematics and science teachers teaching Kindergarten through 6th grade, and those teaching 7th through 12th grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for an awards ceremony. This three-day event, beginning on Wednesday, June 27, will incorporate educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders.

The educators receiving these awards are recognized for significantly improving their students’ understanding of mathematics and science, for exemplary teaching, and for demonstrating educational goals that help them maintain positions of professional leadership.

“New Hampshire is fortunate to be taking part in the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching program. Promotion of teacher recognition awards goes a long way towards keeping New Hampshire’s teachers engaged and excited about education,” said Virginia M. Barry, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education. “By recognizing the importance of outstanding educators we hope to encourage more people to consider a career in education and retain talented people to the challenges and adventures of teaching.”

The Presidential Awards program was established in 1983 to identify outstanding teachers who can serve as role models for their colleagues. The goal of the program is to encourage highly capable individuals to enter and remain in the teaching field.

Nominations for this award at the state level come from the teachers’ colleagues, administrators, students, parents of students, and other community members. To be eligible, a teacher must spend half of his or her time or more in a public or private school, and have a minimum of five years teaching experience. Nominations for teachers of grades 7-12 will open in fall 2012.

The Department of Education administers and presents awards to recognize excellence in education with the goal of building a network that will enable others to use their expertise. For more information about other awards administered through the Department of Education, visit or contact Lori Temple, Public Information Officer (

Acrobat Reader Symbol Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711