Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

2012 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Recipients Announced

On December 20, 2013 President Obama named 102 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Holly Doe, a teacher at Pelham Elementary School, has been selected as a 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching recipient. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between mathematics and science teachers teaching Kindergarten through 6th grade, and those teaching 7th through 12th grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration.
The educators receiving these awards are recognized for significantly improving their students’ understanding of mathematics and science, for exemplary teaching, and for demonstrating educational goals that help them maintain positions of professional leadership.

“New Hampshire is fortunate to be taking part in the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching program. These educational awards programs celebrate all that these outstanding individuals represent and honors their commitment to education. Honoring these educators is an exceptional way to celebrate the many outstanding and dedicated people teaching in New Hampshire schools,” said Virginia M. Barry, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education. “By recognizing the importance of outstanding educators we hope to encourage more people to consider a career in education and retain talented people to the challenges and adventures of teaching.”

The Presidential Awards program was established in 1983 to identify outstanding teachers who can serve as role models for their colleagues. The goal of the program is to encourage highly capable individuals to enter and remain in the teaching field.

Nominations for this award at the state level come from the teachers’ colleagues, administrators, students, parents of students, and other community members. To be eligible, a teacher must spend half of his or her time or more in a public or private school, and have a minimum of five years teaching experience. The 2014 Awards will honor mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers working in grades K-6. Nominations for the 2014 PAEMST are open through April 1, 2014.

The Department of Education administers and presents awards to recognize excellence in education with the goal of building a network that will enable others to use their expertise. For more information about other awards administered through the Department of Education, visit or contact Lori Temple, Public Information Officer (

About Holly Doe Acrobat Reader

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711