Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Recipients Announced

On July 1, 2015, President Obama named 108 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. This year’s awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity schools. Stephanie Burke, West Running Brook Middle School (Derry) and Jennifer Deenik, Souhegan High School (Amherst) have been selected as 2013 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching recipients.

"These teachers are shaping America’s success through their passion for math and science,” President Obama said. “Their leadership and commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge tomorrow.”

“New Hampshire is fortunate to be taking part in the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching program. While all classroom teachers should be recognized on a daily basis, the New Hampshire Department Education honors exemplary educators through various recognition programs. There are thousands of excellent educators deserving of our recognition and gratitude,” said Virginia M. Barry, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education. “These awards and recognitions build community awareness about our state’s finest schools and districts and show case the extraordinary talent in our state. By recognizing the importance of outstanding educators we hope to encourage more people to consider a career in education and retain talented people to the challenges and adventures of teaching.”

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration. Awardees also join an active network of outstanding educators from throughout the nation. Since 1983, more than 4,300 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

The educators receiving these awards are recognized for significantly improving their students’ understanding of mathematics and science, for exemplary teaching, and for demonstrating educational goals that help them maintain positions of professional leadership. The Presidential Awards program was established in 1983 to identify outstanding teachers who can serve as role models for their colleagues. The goal of the program is to encourage highly capable individuals to enter and remain in the teaching field.

Nominations for this award at the state level come from the teachers’ colleagues, administrators, students, parents of students, and other community members. To be eligible, a teacher must spend half of his or her time or more in a public or private school, and have a minimum of five years teaching experience.

Teaching is both an art and science, the most difficult, most rewarding, and most important of careers. The New Hampshire Department Education administers and presents awards to recognize excellence in education with the goal of building a network that will enable others to use their expertise. For more information about other awards administered through the Department of Education, visit or contact Lori Temple, Public Information Officer (

Acrobat Reader Symbol Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711