

# New Hampshire State Board of Education Department of Education 25 Hall Street, Concord, NH 03301

Minutes of the April 3, 2024, Meeting

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting of the State Board of Education convened at 1:10 p.m. Drew Cline presided as chair.

**In Attendance:** Ryan Terrell, Ann Lane, Drew Cline (Chair), Jim Fricchione, and Phil Nazzaro (virtual). Kate Cassady was not able to attend due to a prior commitment.

Also in attendance were Commissioner of Education, Frank Edelblut, and Deputy Commissioner of Education, Christine Brennan.

#### II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Ryan Terrell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

## III. PUBLIC HEARINGS ~ Legislative Rulemaking

A. Minimum Standards for Public Schools (Ed 306.01-Ed 306.25)

The following provided public commentary:

- 1. Fred Bramante, National Center for Competency Based Learning (NCCBL)
- 2. Mark MacLean, New Hampshire School Administrators Association (NHSAA)
- 3. Janet Ward, Hopkinton, NH
- 4. Sarah Robinson, Granite State Progress
- 5. Adam Osburn, Goffstown, NH
- 6. Dean Cascadden, Meredith, NH
- 7. Christine Downing, Goshen, NH

## Please note this is a draft and not yet approve by the State Board.

- 8. Robb Malay, Keene, NH
- 9. David Trumble, Weare, NH
- 10. Eric Frauwirth, New Hampshire Career and Technical Education Association (NHCTA)
- 11. Megan Tuttle, New Hampshire State Teachers Association (NEA-NH)
- 12. Micaela Demeter, Dover School Board
- 13. Brian Balke, New Boston, NH
- 14. Sydney Leggett, SAU 32 and SAU 100
- 15. Elizabeth Corell, Concord, NH
- 16. Greg Leonard, Keene, NH
- 17. Jacob Bennett, Chester, NH
- 18. Debrah Howes, American Federation of Teachers (AFT-NH)
- 19. Karl Hubner, Hampstead, NH

## VII. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

**Motion:** Ann Lane made the motion, seconded by Ryan Terrell,

that the State Board of Education adjourn the meeting at

4:30 p.m.

Vote: The motion was adopted by unanimous vote by the State

Board of Education with the chair abstaining.

Secretar	у		