

Contact: Questions about your state's delegates, alternates or state selection process: Stacey MacStravic at stacey.a.macstravic1@doe.nh.gov.

For general information about the United States Senate Youth Program: Program Director Ms. Rayne Guilford (800) 425-3632 or rguilford@hearstfdn.org.

<u>New Hampshire Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program</u> Students Headed to Washington, D. C. and to Receive \$10,000 Scholarship

January 09, 2024, Washington, D.C. —The United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) announces that high school students Mr. Michael John Blair and Mr. James Richard Thibault will join Senator Jeanne Shaheen and Senator Maggie Hassan in representing New Hampshire during the 62nd annual USSYP Washington Week, to be held March 2 — 9, 2024. Michael Blair of Manchester and James Thibault of Franklin were selected from among the state's top student leaders to be part of the 104 national student delegation. Each delegate will also receive a \$10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the Senate leadership of the day, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony is "to increase young Americans' understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world."

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program provides the most outstanding high school students - two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity - with an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each student with a \$10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. All expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations; as stipulated in Senate Resolution 324, no government funds are utilized.

Michael Blair, a senior at Manchester Central High School, serves as the president of the Senior Class and ranks in the top 1% of his class. He is the editor-in-chief of his school newspaper and is involved with the Choose Love Movement', a national non-profit seeking to create safer communities through character and social emotional development programs. In his role on the Governor's Youth Advisory Council on Substance Misuse and Prevention, he uses positive peer pressure to advance New Hampshire's "No Safe Experience" campaign and advocates against the normalization of teen drug use. As a three-sport athlete, he also serves as a student ambassador at Safe Sports, advocating for youth sports safety and healthy behaviors. Michael is a leader who understands the importance of being an active listener, and has a deep desire to serve his community and country. He plans to study political science in college, and is interested in the intersection of politics, ethics, and business.

UNITED STATES SENATE YOUTH PROGRAM

2024 New Hampshire Delegate Announcement FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Page -2-

James Thibault, a senior at Winnisquam Regional High School, serves as the chairman of the New Hampshire Legislative Youth Advisory Council (LYAC). He is passionate about politics and hopes to make it his future career. He is also a member of the New Hampshire Governor's Youth Advisory Council on Substance Misuse and Prevention. Earlier in his high school career, he was active with his school's Student Council and his experience there led him to discover a deep purpose for helping others. He often attends School Board meetings to stay informed, often serving as the only student representative. Through his involvement with the Youth Advisory Councils James has made connections in state government, including Senator Tim Lang and Representative Jodi Nelson, with whom he collaborated to introduce a bill, HB1080, which makes improvements to the LYAC. This has inspired him and guided him on how to advance his political aspirations. He would like to study political science in college, attending either Saint Anselm College or Georgetown University, and eventually run for public office in the state of New Hampshire.

Chosen as alternates to the 2024 program were Mr. Jonathan Perry Tudor, a resident of Newmarket, who attends Newmarket Jr./Sr. High School and Mr. Colton Thomas Murphy, a resident of Hopkinton, who attends Hopkinton Middle/High School.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. The chief state school officer for each jurisdiction confirms the final selection. This year's New Hampshire delegates and alternates were designated by Mr. Frank Edelblut, Commissioner of Education.

During the program week, the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with senators, the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, and leaders of cabinet agencies, among others.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and seniors. Now more than 6,100 strong, alumni of the program continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished alumni are: Senator Susan Collins, the first alumnus to be elected U.S. senator; Secretary of Transportation and former Mayor of South Bend Indiana, Pete Buttigieg, the first alumnus to be appointed as a cabinet secretary; former Senator Cory Gardner, the second alumnus to be elected U.S. senator and the first to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, the first alumnus to be elected governor; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt and former presidential advisors Thomas "Mack" McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional notables include former Lt. Governor of Idaho David Leroy, former Provost of Wake Forest University Rogan Kersh, military officers, members of state legislatures, Foreign Service officers, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and other university educators.

Members of the U. S. Senate Youth Program 2024 annual Senate Advisory Committee are: Senator Catherine Cortez Masto of Nevada, the 2024 USSYP Democratic Co-Chair and Senator John Barrasso, M.D. of Wyoming, the 2024 USSYP Republican Co-Chair. The full USSYP Senate Advisory Committee consists of the vice president of the United States and the Senate majority and minority leaders who annually serve as the program's Honorary Co-Chairs; two senators, one from each party, serving as acting Co-Chairs who each have keynote speaking roles, and an eight-member bipartisan Senate panel, four senators from each party, who lend their names in support. Serving on the Advisory Committee for the upcoming program are: Senator John Fetterman of Pennsylvania, Senator Maggie Hassan of New Hampshire, Senator Edward J. Markey of Massachusetts, Senator Alex Padilla of California, Senator John Boozman of Arkansas, Senator Katie Britt of Alabama, Senator John Hoeven of North Dakota and Senator Thom Tillis of North Carolina.

For more information please visit: www.ussenateyouth.org