NH Department of Education Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Public Higher Education Task Force

December 21, 2023 Meeting Minutes



Christine Brennan Deputy Commissioner

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Division of Educator Support and Higher Education Higher Education Commission 101 Pleasant Street Concord, N.H. 03301 TEL. (603) 271-2409 FAX (603) 271-4134

A meeting of the Public Higher Education Task Force was held on Thursday, December 21, 2023, at 8:00am at 25 Hall Street, Concord, NH, 03301. The following members present:

Stephen Appleby, Chair Senator James Gray George Hansel Representative Rick Ladd Richard Lavers Butch Locke Representative David Luneau Cathy Provencher Mark Rubinstein Edwin Smith

The following members were not present:

M. Jacqueline Eastwood Jennifer MacDonald

Frank Edelblut Commissioner

Nick Toumpas

- 1. Chair Stephen Appleby called the meeting to order at 8:02am. A quorum was present.
- Review of Statutory Changes to Quorum 91-A. A motion was made by George Hansel to adopt the statutory changes. The motion was seconded by Edwin "Smokey" Smith, and passed unanimously.
- 3. Executive Order 2023-06 was reviewed by the Task Force.
- 4. A briefing on the current state of USNH was provided by Cathy Provencher.
- 5. Chair Stephen Appleby provided a brief overview of the information and resources on the Public Higher Education Task Force web page.
- 6. Meeting dates were reviewed and confirmed for 2024.
- 7. A briefing on the current state of CCSNH was provided by Mark Rubinstein.
- 8. Discussion of approaches to the work and logistics.
- 9. Review of NH Statement of Financial Interests RSA 15-A. All Task Force members are to submit the form, or 16-B if applicable.
- 10. Meeting was adjourned at 1:50pm.