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Subject: Home Education Programs 
Legal Reference: RSA 193-a; Ed 315 

This Technical Advisory provides the New Hampshire Department of Education’s (the “Department’s”) 
guidance regarding the legal requirements to establish a home education program.  

RSA 193-1 requires all New Hampshire children “at least 6 years of age and under 18 years . . . to attend 
the public school to which the child is assigned in the child's resident district.” The statute sets forth 
various exceptions to this requirement, including when a child is “receiving home education pursuant to 
RSA 193-A.”  

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, some New Hampshire families have filed intent to home educate 
notices pursuant to RSA 193-A commencing for the 2020-2021 school year. The Department has received 
substantial feedback from parents regarding school districts’ home school policies, many of which are 
either out-of-date, purport to impose additional, extra-statutory requirements for home education 
notices/programs, or both.  This Technical Advisory sets forth the requirements for intent to home 
educate notices and clarifies that districts may not add requirements not imposed by the statute or State 
Board of Education Rules.  

 Statutory Requirements for Intent to Home School Notices Pursuant to RSA 193-A 

Notice 

A family that elects to commence a home education program must send a notice to a “participating 
agency,” which means either the superintendent of their resident school district, a private school, or the 
Commissioner of the NH Department of Education.  The family is free to elect the participating agency to 
which they send notice—the district policy may not require a specific selection. 

The notification only requires the student’s name, address, and date of birth.  Additional information, 
such as the duration of the intent to home educate or information about the home education program’s 
curriculum, may not be required in the intent to commence a home education notice. 

Acknowledgment   

Once a home education notification is received by a participating agency, that agency must send an 
acknowledgment to the family within 14 days.  The agency may not impose additional requirements on 
the student or family in addition to the statutory notice requirements set forth above. 

Only One Notice/Acknowledgment is Required 

In the Department’s review of district policies, several districts purported to require families to file annual 
notices indicating a continuation of the home education program.  Pursuant to RSA 193-A:5, however, a 
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family is only required to file a single notice of an intent to home educate.  Such 
notice shall continue in effect until it is terminated by the family pursuant to RSA 193-A:5, III.   

Similarly, it has come to the attention of the Department that in their acknowledgments, some districts 
are indicating that their acknowledgment is only effective for the current school year, e.g., “the District 
accepts your intent to home school for the 2020-2021 school year.”  This is improper pursuant to the 
statutory framework.  The acknowledgment must simply acknowledge that the family has commenced a  
home education program, which election is effective until terminated pursuant to RSA 193-A:5, III. 

Districts are Encouraged to Review Their Policies and Revise Them if they are Out of Date 

RSA 193-A was most recently amended in 2012.  In its review of district policies, the Department noted 
that many district policies pre-date the current statute.  This may be the source of at least some of the 
noted inconsistencies between district policies and the statutory requirements.  As such, districts are 
strongly encouraged to review and, if appropriate, update their policy to ensure statutory compliance. 

Communication with Home Education Parents 

Many district policies purport to require periodic “check-in meetings” with home education families.  
Required meetings are not appropriate and are not consistent with RSA 193-A.  Of course, many parents 
of home education students may seek out communication with the district, especially if they plan to return 
their child to the district school in a subsequent school year.  Such communication is encouraged where 
sought by the family, but districts must understand that they cannot require such periodic check-ins.  They 
may be offered, but they may not be mandatory. 

 Additional Items that May Not Properly be Included in a District’s Home Education Policy 

The Department’s review of district policies revealed a number of impermissible requirements 
purportedly placed on home education programs.  The following is a non-inclusive list of requirements 
that districts may not include in their home education policies: 

• Additional requirements on home education students for participation in district 
curricular or co-curricular activities to which district students are not subject; 

• District review of the home education academic program and curriculum; 
• Specification of the method of evaluation pursuant to RSA 193-A:6 (this is a parent 

decision); 
• Annual home education notices 

For assistance or to address questions or concerns: Contact:  

Stephen W. F. Berwick, CPS/CPM 

Phone: (603) 271-2299 

Stephen.Berwick@doe.nh.gov  
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