

TECHNICAL ADVISORY

Subject:	Legal Reference –
Further Clarification to SB 216, Implementation	
of Naturalization Assessment	SB 216 (2022-2023 Legislative Session)
Date issues: Sept. 28, 2023	

This Technical Advisory continues the New Hampshire Department of Education's communication regarding new legislation, which was passed during the 2022-2023 legislative session. A <u>Technical Advisory</u> was issued relative to SB 216 on August 30, 2023. This Technical Advisory provides additional guidance relative to the implementation of the naturalization assessment to be administered as a graduation requirement.

The statute specifies with respect to the naturalization assessment:

To be eligible for a graduation certificate, a student in a public, chartered public, nonpublic school, or a privately incorporated school that serves as a public school in the state, shall attain a locally sanctioned passing grade on the competency assessment, and a grade of 70 percent or better on the 128 question civics (history and government) naturalization examination developed by the 2020 United States Citizen and Immigration Services. Schools are required to provide accommodations and may modify the naturalization examination for a child with a disability in accordance with the child's individualized education program. By June 30 of each year, each school district, chartered public or nonpublic school, or a privately incorporated school that serves as a public school in the state, shall submit the results of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) test to the department of education.

In response to questions that have come up relative to the implementation of this statute:

- The assessment should be offered in a single sitting, meaning that students will take the complete assessment at one time. Some questions have come up relative to breaking up the assessment into smaller components, say 10 questions at a time and over an extended time period. The intention of the legislature was for the assessment to be administered all in the same sitting.
- Students are required to attain a grade of 70 percent (90 correct responses) to be eligible for a graduation certificate. Students may take the assessment at any time, including before entering high school. Thus, for example, if a student is prepared to take the assessment in 8th grade and attains a passing grade, that would meet the graduation eligibility requirement.
- Students may retake the assessment more than one time and as often as necessary prior to the completion of their secondary education to meet the graduation requirement.
- In accordance with the statute, the district may provide assessment accommodations pursuant to and as described in an individual students IEP or 504 plan.



TECHNICAL ADVISORY

As reported in the previous Technical Advisory, the department is working to make available a module of the New Hampshire State Assessment System (NHSAS) to help districts implement the assessment.

For questions related to this Technical Advisory, please contact:

Diana E. Fenton, Esq. Chief, Governance Unit

Tel: 603-271-2198

Email: <u>Diana.E.Fenton@doe.nh.gov</u>