

Frank Edelblut Commissioner Christine M. Brennan Deputy Commissioner

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 25 Hall Street Concord, N.H. 03301 TEL. (603) 271-3495 FAX (603) 271-1953

How to File a Title I Complaint

Complaints must be in writing and be signed and received by the Department of Education within 30 days of a final decision by a local school board regarding the complaint. In the case that a parent is the complainant, the Title I Project Manager of the Local Education Agency shall assist the parent in the complaint process.

The Complaint Must Include:

- 1. The Name and Contact Information of the Complainant.
- A statement of the alleged violation of federal statute or regulation, the identity of the person or entity that is committing the violation and a description of the applicable program where the violation is occurring.
- 3. Steps taken at the Local Level to resolve this complaint.
- 4. A Copy of the final decision from local School Board in regard to the complaint.
- 5. Signature of Complainant.

Mail Complaint to:

Melinda Pfaff
New Hampshire Department of Education
25 Hall Street – Granite State College
Concord, NH 03301

For more information regarding New Hampshire's Complaint Rules, please refer to the following link: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/ed200.html

Title I Complaint Form

1.	. <u>Contact Information</u> :	
Nam	Name:	
Addı	Address:	
City:	City: State	e:Zip:
Dayt	Daytime Phone:	
Stud	tudent Information (if applicable):	
Scho	chool/District Information (if applicable):	
2.	. <u>Program Specific Information</u> :	
	Title I, Part A Title I, Part I	Migrant Education
3.	Statement of Violation of Federal Requirement	:
4.	. Chronology of Events: (Include date and persons inv	olved for each event.)
5.	. Steps taken at the Local Level to resolve this co	omplaint:
6.		
	Date of School Board Meeting: Attach a copy of final decision.	
_		
7.	. <u>Signature:</u>	<u>Date:</u>



STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 25 Hall Street Concord, N.H. 03301 FAX 603-271-1953 Citizens Services Line 1-800-339-9900

Title I Complaint Process Timeline

Activity Line	Time
Title I Office receives copy of complaint and logs in	Date Stamped
Title I Office issues a receipt of complaint to complainant	2 working days
Title I Office investigates complaint going onsite if necessary	10 working days
If not resolved by Title I Office, a complaint is forwarded to Office of Legislation and Hearings for assignment to a Mediator	
Mediation is scheduled	15 working days
Resolution is determined by mediator and both parties	15 working days
Written Report Issued to all parties	5 working days
If parties are unable to resolve dispute complement may within 20 days	

If parties are unable to resolve dispute complainant may, within 30 days of the mediator's report, request State Board Hearing pursuant to RSA 21-N:II,III and in accordance with Ed 200.

A final decision by State Board may be forwarded to the Secretary of the US Department of Education for review; said review to be at the discretion of the Secretary.

The NH State Director of Title I, with support from other members of the NH DOE staff will oversee this process and monitor the progress of complaint resolution.