Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Professional Development | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Council for Teacher Education

The Council for Teacher Education is authorized by statute (RSA 190) to coordinate teacher education in New Hampshire in an advisory capacity through a continuing study and discussion of pre-service progress and the CTE shall issue advisory reports to agencies and institutions, public and private, concerned with teacher education.

The voting membership of the Council for Teacher Education consists of seven (7) members appointed as follows: commissioner of education or designee; chairman of the education department at the University of New Hampshire or his designee; presidents of Keene State College and Plymouth State University or their designees; and three (3) members appointed by them for terms not exceeding 3 years, one from a private educational institution, one from the professional personnel of the public schools and one layman. Additional members may be appointed by the seven listed below.

The Council schedules meetings every month from September to June.

2017-2018 Meeting Dates

  • September 21, 2017
  • October 19, 2017
  • November 16, 2017
  • December 21, 2017
  • January 18, 2018
  • February 15, 2018
  • March 15, 2018
  • April 19, 2018
  • May 17, 2018
  • June 21, 2018

Council meeting agendas and minutes

2017-2018 Membership

Membership by Statute:

Frank Edelblut Commissioner, NH Department of Education - or designee
Leslie Couse Chair and Associate Professor, Education Department, University of New Hampshire
Dr. Anne E. Huot President, Keene State College
(Represented by Dottie Bauer, Professor, Education Department)
Dr. Donald Birx President, Plymouth State University
(Represented by Dr. Megan Birch, Director of Educator Preparation, Associate Professor of English, Certification Officer)

Appointed Members by Statute: (serving three-year terms)

Michael Fournier
(Representing a
Professional Practitioner)
Principal, Bedford School District,
Bedford, NH
Frank Hoell
Dunbarton, NH;
Retired Principal, Merrimack School District
Alana Mosley
(Representing a private institution)

Professor of Education,
Franklin Pierce University, Rindge, NH


Additional Members: (Appointed by the seven voting members of the Council) serving three-year terms

Stephen Bigaj Assistant Dean/Professor, Keene State College 2016-2019
Suzanne Canalli Director of Art Education Program, New Hampshire Institute of Art,
Manchester, NH
Nicole Canney Pinkerton Academy Classroom Teacher 2016-2019
Dr. Linda Carrier Graduate Program Coordinator for Educational Leadership Programs, Plymouth State University 2016-2019
Dr. Leslie Couse Professor of Education, University of New Hampshire 2016-2019
Carolyn Cormier Associate Dean School of Education, Granite State College, Rochester, NH 2016-2019
Heather Cummings Assistant Superintendent of Governor Wentworth Regional School District, Wolfeboro Falls, NH 2015-2018
Diane Edwards Associate Professor and Director of Teacher Education, Colby-Sawyer College 2016-2019
Dr. Robert McLaughlin Associate Dean of Education, New England College 2016-2019
Dr. Diane Monico Director, Practicum Experiences/Certification Officer, Rivier University, Nashua, NH 2016-2019
Dr. Kelly Moore Dunn Director of Teacher Education Conversion Programs,
NHTI - Concord's Community College, Concord, NH
Bonnie Painchaud SAU 46, Loudon School District Classroom Teacher 2016-2019
Dr. Ron Pedro Certification Manager, School of Education, Southern New Hampshire University, Manchester, NH 2016-2019
Dr. John Slater Associate Professor, Hellenic American University, Nashua, NH 2016-2019
Laura Thomas Teaching Faculty, Education Department Director
Antioch University New England, Keene, NH
Dr. Chris Ward Graduate Studies Coordinator , Upper Valley Educators Institute, Lebanon, NH 2016-2019
Dr. Laura Wasielewski Director of Teacher Education, Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH
CTE Chair

CTE Membership Application

Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs) with Preparation Programs
Fifteen IHEs in New Hampshire each offer one or more approved professional educator preparation programs.

List of IHEs and their approved programs

Matrices for IHEs and Reviewers
The matrices for IHEs and program approval reviewers support the self-assessment and external assessment of the state's preparation programs.

Professional Educator Preparation Program Approval

Hampshire Summit on Redefining Educator Development for 21st Century Learners
In May 2010, the NHDOE joined with 11 other statewide organizations to co-sponsor an invitational summit for P12 educators, teacher educators, and state policy leaders. Visit this Web site to see slide shows and archived videos of summit presentations.

Acrobat Reader Symbol Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711