Dept of Education Logo
Dept of Education Logo
Home | About Us | Accountability/Assessment | Certification | Data Collection & Reports | Innovations | Legislation/Hearings/Rules | NH Schools | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | Search | Calendar
Department of Education - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
skip navigation
students artwork

Professional Standards Board

The Professional Standards Board is authorized by statute RSA 186:60 to advise the State Board of Education regarding professional growth, certification, and governance of the education profession in this state.

The voting membership of the Professional Standards Board consists of twenty-one (21) persons appointed as follows: nine (9) classroom teachers and/or educational specialists; nine (9) representatives of administration and higher education; two (2) qualified lay persons; and the Director of the Division of Program Support or designee.

The State Board of Education makes a minimum of six appointments annually from nominations submitted by the education profession and interested persons. Appointments are for terms of three years. No member shall serve more than two full terms.

The Professional Standards Board conducts a minimum of five (5) regularly scheduled meetings annually which occur from September to June. Unless otherwise posted, the PSB meetings take place at the NH Department of Education building (Londergan Hall), 101 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH in Room 15. Meetings begin at noon and are open to the public.

Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
September 12, 2018 Agenda for the September 12, 2018 meeting, Acrobat Reader Acrobat Reader
October 3, 2018 Agenda for the October 3, 2018 meeting, Acrobat Reader Minutes of the October 3, 2018 meeting, Acrobat Reader Draft
November 7, 2018 Agenda for the November 7, 2018 meeting, Acrobat Reader  
December 5, 2018    
January 9, 2018    
February 6, 2019    
March 6, 2019    
April 3, 2019    
May 1, 2019    
June 5, 2019    

2017-18 Meetings, Minutes and Agendas

Membership 2018-2019 School Year

Teachers and Education Specialists
Janine Casavant Social Studies Teacher, Penacook 2017-2020
Joanne Goelzer Earth Science Teacher, Northwood 2018-2021
Jack Grube Retired CTE Director, Londonderry 2017-2020
Katrina Hall Mathematics Teacher, Hollis Brookline 2016-2019
Joann Misra Special Educator, Windham 2016-2019
Christine Oskar-Poisson English Teacher/Professor New England College 2017-2020
Irv Richardson Coordinator for Public Education and School Support, NEA-NH 2016-2019
Anne Wallace, Chair Math Teacher, Hampstead 2017-2020
David Webster Science Teacher, Lincoln 2018-2021
II. Higher Education and Education Administration
Kirk Beitler Superintendent, SAU 73, Gilford 2016-2019
Vince Connelly Associate Professor, University of New Hampshire 2017-2020
Joe Crawford Director, NEXT Charter School, Derry 2017-2020
George Harne President, Northeast Catholic College, Warner 2017-2020
Cynthia Lucero
Vice Chair
Professor of Education & Coordinator of Field Experience, NHTI 2018-2021
Beth McClure Principal, Strong Foundations Charter School, Pembroke 2018-2021
Christie Sweeney Associate Professor, Plymouth State University, Plymouth 2017-2020
R. Page Tompkins Executive Director & Faculty, Upper Valley Educators Institute, Lebanon 2018-2021
Lisa A. Witte Superintendent, SAU 93, Monadnock 2016-2019
Kimberly Yarlott Principal, Reeds Ferry School, Merrimack 2016-2019
III. Qualified Lay Persons
Kenneth Gorrel Owner, Franchise Owner, Northfield 2017-2020
Vacant   2017-2020
IV. Director, Division of Program Support
Stephen Appleby

*six-year term ends

Amanda Phelps
(603) 271-2718


New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3494
Telephone: (603) 271-3494 | TDD Access: Relay NH 711