For Immediate Release
Posted: May 07, 2024


Kim Houghton, Communications Administrator
(603) 513-3030 |

Eight NH seniors named semifinalists in U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

CONCORD, NH — Considered one of the nation’s highest honors for graduating high school seniors, eight New Hampshire students have been named semifinalists in the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. 

The semifinalists include: 

  • Acadia Jade Bloodlane of Newmarket; Newmarket High School
  • Andre A. Boufama of Lee; Berwick Academy
  • Michael C. Dascomb of Londonderry; Home Education
  • Molly Fitzgerald DellaValla of Jackson; Home Education
  • Deetya B. Nagri of Nashua; Nashua High School South
  • Prayag J. Patel of Auburn; The Derryfield School
  • Eben Quenneville of Merrimack; Home Education
  • Riya Tyagi of Exeter; Phillips Exeter Academy

“I congratulate this cohort of exceptional seniors for their academic drive and passion for learning. These soon-to-be graduates are among a group of highly distinguished students who have been selected because of their achievements in the classroom, in the arts and in their Career and Technical Education programs,” said Frank Edelblut, education commissioner. “We are pleased to have them represent New Hampshire as semifinalists for such a highly selective program. Knowing that their freshman year was impacted by COVID-19, these eight students were able to persevere many challenges associated with the pandemic throughout their four years of high school and, in the face of uncertainty, show resilience and strength.”

New Hampshire’s eight semifinalists join an elite group of 625 semifinalists from throughout the nation who are being recognized for their outstanding achievements in academics, leadership, the arts, school and community involvement and career and technical fields. The Commission on Presidential Scholars will select the finalists, and the U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in mid-May. 

More information is available at