Appeals and Mediation
The New Hampshire Department of Education has a responsibility to mediate disputes. These include complaints filed by parents, disputes between school districts, and appeals from educators appealing suspension or repeal of their credentials. In most cases, decisions can ultimately be brought to the State Board of Education for a final determination.
The Department's special education due process hearing is the final administrative remedy for disputes between parents and school districts. Decisions of a hearing officer in special education due process hearings shall be appealed directly to a court of competent jurisdiction. Prior to requesting a due process hearing, if the parties agree, the department will provide either mediation or a neutral conference as an alternative for resolving the dispute.
- To request a Reasonable Accommodation Form
- Pro-Se Parent Guide to Special Education Hearings
- Attorneys representing parents in Special Education Cases
The New Hampshire Department of Transportation does not provide transportation for any New Hampshire students. However, parents who believe that their local school district has failed to provide transportation as required by law may report the dispute to the Department.
Hearings shall be conducted by the office of legislation and hearings in accordance with Ed 1004.05. The written request for a hearing shall be made within 30 days after the division notifies the individual of its determination or completion of an alternative dispute resolution procedure.
The written request to the division required to initiate the hearing process shall include:
- The full name and address of the individual; and
- A description of why the individual is not satisfied with the determination or with the outcome of the mediation procedure, as applicable.
When providing a written request for a hearing is a burden to the individual because of the individual's disability, the division shall accept a request in the appropriate mode of communication that is consistent with the informed choice of, and used by, the individual in order to promote the fair, accurate, and efficient resolution of issues.
To report physical abuse or any other crime, please contact your local police department.
All reports of misconduct by educators should be made directly to either:
Richard Farrell, Investigator
(603) 271-8372 (office)
(603) 231-0521 (cell)
Diana Fenton, Attorney
(603) 271-3189 (office)
Educators and Parents appealing State Board of Education Hearings
A party aggrieved by a decision at the local level may appeal to the state board for review, in accordance with Ed 200, provided that such appeal is filed within 30 days of receipt of the written decision of the local board or 7 days after any alternative dispute resolution that did not produce an agreement with parties. Each appeal shall be in writing and shall be addressed to the office of legislation and hearings.
Each appeal shall state the following
- The name, address and telephone number of the person making the appeal;
- How the person has been adversely affected by the decision.
- Any other information the person deems relevant to a speedy resolution of the matter including but not limited to the law, rule or local policy which was the basis for the decision which the person is challenging.
The party filing the appeal shall enclose a copy of the final local board decision. The following documents may be useful in preparing an appeal. The Department of Education cannot provide legal advice to any party.
- State Board of Education Rules of Practice and Procedure
- Pro-Se Parent Guide to State Board of Education Hearings
- User's Guide to Administrative Procedure, November 2020
- Manifest Hardship
To file a complaint:
Stephen W.F. Berwick
Mediation, Neutral Conferences and Hearings
Office of Legislation and Hearings
101 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301.