Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

PAEMST are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science. The PAEMST program also honors teachers for their dedication to improving education and inspiring students in mathematics and science. In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the award program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. This program acknowledges educators who are models in both their classrooms and in their communities.

The Awards were established by Congress in 1983, the President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year. The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Presidential Awardees receive a certificate signed by the President; a trip to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities; and, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

The PAEMST program provides teachers an excellent opportunity to apply for an additional growth opportunity or nominate a colleague who deserves to be recognized for STEM teaching. 

Who May Nominate

Anyone may nominate an exceptional science, technology, engineering, mathematics and/or computer science teacher at A person may submit more than one nomination for additional teachers worthy of this award. Awards alternate each year between elementary and secondary teachers.

Nominations for grade 7-12 teachers take place from August 1, 2022 - January 9, 2023. Teachers must have at least five (5) years of teaching experience in mathematics and/or science prior to application and must be a full-time employee of his/her school district (public or private). Teachers who have been nominated before and have not previously won this award may be nominated again.

Who May Apply

To apply, teachers must first be nominated for the award. Teachers may nominate themselves or someone else (e.g., principals, teachers, parents, or other members of the general public) may nominate them for this award. Once nominated, teachers will receive an e-mail with a login and password to access the online application. Once a nomination has been made, the nominee must complete the application confirming their eligibility to apply for the award.

Applications for K-6 grade teachers are now open. Applications must be completed by February 6, 2024. This application is available at


2020 Recipient

  • Tristan Bowen, 4th grade at Riddle Brook School in Bedford

2019 Recipients

  • Susan Downer, Chemistry, Souhegan High School in Amherst
  • Michelle Morton-Curit, Geometry, Exeter High School

2018 Recipients

  • Bryan Smith teaches 4th Grade at Bethlehem Elementary School
  • Gregory Snoke teaches 6th Grade at Captain Samuel Douglass Academy in Brookline

2017 Recipients

  • Elise Catalano received the award for her work at Rye Junior High and now teaches 7th Grade Math at Cooperative Middle School in Exeter
  • Angela Lennox recently retired from Exeter High School

2016 Recipient

  • Stephanie Gleeson, a teacher in Moultonborough, has been selected as a 2016 recipient

2015 Recipients

  • Robin Ellwood, a science teacher at Rye Junior High School
  • Patrick Kaplo a science teacher at Windham High School

2014 Recipients

  • Rebecca Cummings, a science teacher at Pelham Elementary School
  • Ann Gaffney, a mathematics teacher at Londonderry Middle School

    2013 Recipients

    • Stephanie Burke, West Running Brook Middle School (Derry)
    • Jennifer Deenik, Souhegan High School (Amherst)

    2012 Recipient

    • Holly Doe, Pelham Elementary School

    2011 Recipient

    • Gina Bergskaug Hollis-Brookline High School


    Anne Wallace
    Math/STEM Education Consultant
    PAEMST State Coordinator