Skip to main content
scroll to top

Presidential Scholars

The U.S. Presidential Scholars program was established by executive order in 1964 to recognize some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts, and again in 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Nominations are now open for the U.S. Presidential Scholars program. Each school is invited to nominate up to 3 students (1 male and 1 female for general) and one student to be included as a candidate for recognition for excellence in CTE. We encourage you to nominate students who demonstrate outstanding scholarship but who might not otherwise be nominated through the current SAT/ACT, Arts, or CTE recognition processes.

2020 New Hampshire Presidential Scholars

  • Jeffrey Lam, Nashua, Nashua High School South
  • Claire Emily Reynolds, Nashua, Bishop Guertin High School

2019 New Hampshire Presidential Scholars

  • >Benjamin Daniel Jachim-Gallagher of Newport (Newport) Middle High School
  • Michaela Phan of Portsmouth (Phillips Exeter Academy)

For more information, visit the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.